• Welcome!
    Logout|My Dashboard

Turner to speak at Juneteenth banquet - The Galveston County Daily News : Local News

November 27, 2014

Turner to speak at Juneteenth banquet

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Sunday, April 27, 2014 12:00 am

GALVESTON — State Rep. Sylvester Turner, D-Houston, will be the keynote speaker at the city of Galveston’s annual Juneteenth banquet at 7 p.m. June 10 at the Old Central Cultural Center, 2627 Ave. M.

Tickets are $35 per person and a table of 10 is $350. Corporate sponsorships also are available for $500 and $1,000.

Also new this year, Old Central will have a banquet souvenir booklet. Ads also will be available for purchase.

Rep. Turner was raised in the Acres Homes community in northwest Houston. He attended the University of Houston and Harvard Law School before joining the law firm of Fulbright & Jaworski. He later founded the Houston law firm of Barnes & Turner in 1983. Rep. Turner was elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 1988 to serve the people of House District 139 in Harris County.

Rep. Turner has served more than 24 years in the Texas House of Representatives. He is a member of the Legislative Budget Board; vice chair of the House Appropriations Committee; chair of the Subcommittee on Articles 1, 4 and 5 (General Government, Judiciary, Public Safety and Criminal Justice); and a member of the House State Affairs Committee. He also chairs both the Texas Legislative Black Caucus and the Greater Houston Area Legislative Delegation.

From 2003 to 2009, Rep. Turner served as speaker pro tempore of the Texas House. He has also chaired the House Criminal Justice Appropriations Committee and the House Select Committee on Hurricane Ike Storm Devastation to the Texas Gulf Coast, and served as a member of the House Calendars Committee and the House Select Committee on Electric Generation Capacity and Environmental Effects.

For tickets, sponsorships, or to purchase an ad for the souvenir booklet, call Pete Henley, 409-392-0317, or any of the Old Central board members, Douglas Matthews, David O’Neal, Lillie Little, Ella Lewis, Margaret Bell, Tommie Boudreaux. Mary Crayton, Clarence Caroline, Gloria Ellisor, Alice Gatson, Dwayne Jones, Mozellar Petteway and Roland Thomas.