• Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

The Galveston County Daily News : Today In History

October 30, 2014

Today in History

Top Story

Today in History for October 26, 2014

From the archives of The Daily News for October 26:

  • icon Posted: October 26

Latest Headlines

Saturday 10/25/2014
From the Archives for Saturday, Oct. 25, 2014
Posted: October 25, 2014

In 1914, Garbade, Eiband and Company spent approximately $100,000 to completely rebuild its department store at 22nd Street and Postoffice.

Comments (0)
Friday 10/24/2014
From the Archives for Friday, Oct. 24, 2014
Posted: October 24, 2014

In 1964, plans were under way to establish a steamship passenger line service from Galveston to Isla Cozumel off the east coast of Mexico on a regular basis.

Comments (0)
Thursday 10/23/2014
From the Archives for Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014
Posted: October 23, 2014

From the archives of The Daily News for October 23:

Comments (0)
Wednesday 10/22/2014
From the Archives for Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2014
Posted: October 22, 2014

In 1914, the chief of customs came from Washington to investigate departmental needs.

Comments (0)
Tuesday 10/21/2014
From the Archives for Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2014
Posted: October 21, 2014

In 1914, four people were arrested in a police campaign against drug users, after Galveston’s chief of police declared a war on the illicit sale of cocaine and opium.

Comments (0)
Sunday 10/19/2014
From the Archives for Sunday, Oct. 19, 2014
Posted: October 19, 2014

From the Archives published in The Daily News:

Comments (0)
Saturday 10/18/2014
From the Archives for Saturday, Oct. 18, 2014
Posted: October 18, 2014

In 1914, two soldiers drowned when their sail boat capsized in Galveston Bay. Two others were rescued by members of Phi Alpha Sigma fraternity of State Medical College, who were on a pleasure excursion.

Comments (0)
Friday 10/17/2014
From the Archives for Friday, Oct. 17, 2014
Posted: October 17, 2014

From the archives of The Daily News for October 17:

Comments (0)