• Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

The Galveston County Daily News : Today In History

December 21, 2014

Today in History

Top Story

Today in history for December 8, 2014

From the archives of The Daily News for December 8: 

  • icon Posted: December 08

Latest Headlines

Sunday 12/07/2014
Today in History for December 7, 2014
Posted: December 07, 2014

From the archives of The Daily News for December 7:

 

Comments (0)
Monday 12/01/2014
Today in History for December 1, 2014
Posted: December 01, 2014

From the archives of The Daily News for December 1:

Comments (0)
Saturday 11/15/2014
From the Archives for Saturday, Nov. 15, 2014
Posted: November 15, 2014

In 1914, cooperation between the railroads and Galveston County Business League with a view to converting pasture land on the mainland into small farms for settlers was urged at a meeting by Fred C. Pabet, collector of the port of Galveston and former county commissioner.

Comments (0)
Saturday 11/01/2014
From the Archives for Saturday, Nov. 1, 2014
Posted: November 01, 2014

In 1914, it was announced that a new downtown hotel would be built in December, to open that following March.

Comments (0)
Sunday 10/26/2014
From the Archives for Sunday, Oct. 26, 2014
Posted: October 26, 2014

From the archives of The Daily News for October 26:

Comments (0)
Saturday 10/25/2014
From the Archives for Saturday, Oct. 25, 2014
Posted: October 25, 2014

In 1914, Garbade, Eiband and Company spent approximately $100,000 to completely rebuild its department store at 22nd Street and Postoffice.

Comments (0)
Friday 10/24/2014
From the Archives for Friday, Oct. 24, 2014
Posted: October 24, 2014

In 1964, plans were under way to establish a steamship passenger line service from Galveston to Isla Cozumel off the east coast of Mexico on a regular basis.

Comments (0)
Thursday 10/23/2014
From the Archives for Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014
Posted: October 23, 2014

From the archives of The Daily News for October 23:

Comments (0)